MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING

A regular meeting of the **Board of Commissioners** of **Hospital Service District No. 2, Abbeville General Hospital,** Parish of Vermilion, State of Louisiana was called to order at **6.15 P.M. on**<u>Wednesday, March 27, 2024</u> by Mr. John Boudreaux, Chairman. Proceedings were taken at their regular meeting place in the Hospital Boardroom of Abbeville General Hospital with the following people present:

MEMBERS PRESENT: John Boudreaux, Chairman

Oswald Broussard, Vice Chairman

Anita Levy Kelly Richard

John Budden, M.D.

Jody Landry Daleon Primeaux

STAFF PRESENT: Michael J. Bertrand, Chief Executive Officer

Troy Hair, Chief Financial Officer Heidi Guidry, Chief Nursing Officer Abbey Palombo, Recording Secretary

Gene Sellers, Architect

APPROVAL OF MINUTES

On motion of Anita Levy seconded by Kelly Richard and unanimously carried, the minutes of the Regular Board of Commissioners meeting held March 13, 2024 were approved as written.

COMMUNICATIONS

The following communications were reviewed:

✓ 2024 Appropriations Bill – Earmarks

ARCHITECT REPORT

Maurice Community Care Clinic Expansion

The board reviewed the options on the Expansion of the Maurice Community Care Clinic presented by Gene Sellers. On motion of Jody Landry, seconded by Kelly Richard and unanimously carried the board approved option number two as presented, and authorized Gene to proceed with design of the clinic adding approximately 5,822 square feet to the existing building, which adds four (4) additional provider offices, as well as twelve or thirteen (12-13) exam rooms, a nurses station, patient waiting room, along with ancillary patient check-in/discharge and business office areas, restrooms, and storage areas with a total recommended project budget of \$2,160,000.00.

MEDICAL STAFF REPORT

Dr. Claude Meeks, Chief of Staff, presented the Medical Staff report.

> Credentials Committee Report

On motion of Daleon Primeaux, seconded by John Budden, MD and unanimously carried, the recommendations of the Medical Executive/Credentials Committee were accepted as follows:

Practitioner's Name	S (Twelve Month Provisional) Dept. of Medicine Clinical Privileges	Staff Category
<u> </u>	<u></u>	Provisional Staff / Active
Jude Cope, DO	Pediatrics	Staff I
Andrew Eisenberg, MD	Emergency Medicine	Provisional Staff / ER Staff
	s (Twelve Month Provisional) Dept. of Surgery	
<u>Practitioner's Name</u>	<u>Clinical Privileges</u>	Staff Category Provisional Staff / Courtesy
Maxie Trahan, MD	General Surgery	Staff
Lift from Provisional Status		
<u>Practitioner's Name</u>	<u>For Review</u>	Staff Category
Robin Barry, MD	Otolaryngology	Consulting Staff
Kailey Frick, PT	Physical Therapy	Allied health Staff
Reappointment (Two Year Pe	eriod) Dept. of Surgery	
Practitioner's Name	Clinical Privileges	Reappointment Period
Kyle Degeyter, MD	Diagnostic Radiology	4/24/2024 to 4/24/2026
Amy Schunemeyer, DPM	Podiatry	4/26/2024 to 4/26/2026
Reappointment (Two Year Pe	eriod) Dept. of Medicine	
Practitioner's Name	Clinical Privileges	Reappointment Period
Katie Porche, APRN	Nurse Practitioner	4/20/2024 to 4/20/2026
Approve Practitioners Reapp	onted by the Medical Board of Direct Radiology and add	ded to the Privilege Agreemen
<u>Practitioner's Name</u>	<u>Clinical Privileges</u>	Consider and Recommend
Dennis Burton, MD	Teleradiology / Diagnostic Radiology	Telemedicine Staff
Courtney Carter, MD	Teleradiology / Diagnostic Radiology	Telemedicine Staff
Elizabeth Dubovsky, MD	Teleradiology / Diagnostic Radiology	Telemedicine Staff
Mark Faltaous, MD	Teleradiology / Diagnostic Radiology	Telemedicine Staff
Laura Hotchkiss, MD	Teleradiology / Diagnostic Radiology	Telemedicine Staff
Teppe Popovich, MD	Teleradiology / Diagnostic Radiology	Telemedicine Staff
Kimberly Taylor, MD	Teleradiology / Diagnostic Radiology	Telemedicine Staff
Practitioner Granted Tempor	ary Privileges Extension (30 Day Period)	
<u>Practitioner's Name</u>	Clinical Privileges	Effective Date
Andrew Eisenberg, MD	Emergency Medicine	3/18/2024
Place on Inactive Status (Rer	noved from Staff)	
Practitioner's Name	Clinical Privileges	Consider and Recommend
David Craft, MD	Expired Malpractice Insurance – Unable to contact	

Anita Crutchfield, APRN Resignation 2/16/2024

Megan Fourroux, PT Voluntary Resignation of Membership / Privileges 2/24/2024

NEW BUSINESS

> MEP Projects

On motion of Kelly Richard, seconded by Daleon Primeaux and unanimously carried, the Board approved proceeding with preliminary the design aspect of the following projects:

- Replace AHU C, Electric VAVs, DDC controls & thermostats
- Replace AHU 6, Associated Hot Water Coils
- Replace AHU 3, Electric VAVs, DDC controls & thermostats
- Replace MAU #1

Medical Scholarship

On motion of Daleon Primeaux, seconded by Oswald Broussard and unanimously carried, the Board approved the application sent in, awarded the medical scholarship to Jordan Lahasky, and authorized legal to proceed with finalizing the agreement with Louisiana State University.

Physician Services Agreement

On motion of Anita Levy, seconded by Jody Landry and unanimously carried, the Board approved the physician services agreement with Kennedy Iheanacho as presented.

Stryker Beds – Med/Surg

On motion of Kelly Richard, seconded by Oswald Broussard and unanimously carried, the Board approved the purchase of four (4) Med/Surg beds from Stryker that improve patient safety with IBED Aware technology and bed exit alarms alerting staff to help prevent patient falls, and allow improved comfort to our patients and ease of transportation throughout the hospital if needed for a total cost of \$39,572.00 (PFI #35).

> ZOLL IQool Temperature Management System - ICU

On motion of Oswald Broussard, seconded by Daelon and unanimously carried, the Board approved the purchase of the IQool Temperature Management System that not only facilitates the cooling of patients, but also boasts advanced features enabling the systematic re-warming of patients once the target temperatures are achieved, allowing the highest standard of patient care at a total cost of \$34,200.00 (PFI #58).

> Hospital Directed Payment Certificate

On motion of Kelly Richard, seconded by Jody Landry and unanimously carried, the Board authorized Michael J. Bertrand, Chief Executive to sign and submit the Hospital Directed Payment Certification which certifies that it has no agreements (written or otherwise), or agreements under active consideration, with any hospital provider that would receive Medicaid reimbursement as a result of the directed payment program that would present a transfer of value between a public and private entity for the purposes of providing state match for the directed payment program to LDH through IGTs.

4

EXECUTIVE SESSION

On motion of Anita Levy, seconded by Jody Landry and unanimously carried, the Board entered into Executive Session for Approval of Minutes, and Strategic Planning, and Performance Improvement.

On motion of Anita Levy, seconded by Kelly Richard and unanimously carried, **the Board adjourned** at **7:01 PM**.

MICHAEL J. BERTRAND, II, MS, MBA CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER SECRETARY / TREASURER

JOHN BOUDREAUX CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD